Finance Department

About Us

The City of Hartwell Finance Department is supervised by Joan Hughes.  The department operates with a total of five personnel: Audrey Segars, Assistant Finance Officer; Elaine Heaton, Billing Technician; and Customer Representatives LeAnn Long, Harriet Hodgkin and Evan Glasco.

The Finance Department includes Accounting, Payroll, Utility Billing, Property Tax Collection, Insurance, Asset Management, and Investments.  An active and strongly enforced purchase order system monitors and controls expenditures, while adding security to each expenditure.

The Finance Officer has installed a method of tax collection that is unsurpassed in the State of Georgia.  Tax collections are monitored throughout the year.  As soon as the delinquency period begins, notices are forwarded to those property owners appearing on the computer generated list.  From that point on, the pursuit of delinquent tax collection is sought through a method of standardized routes that end with the sale of property on the courthouse steps.

Competitive procurement, such as professional services, materials, supplies, vehicles, and other services for all departments has benefited the taxpayer to the point of no tax millage increase for the budget year.  Each year brings a renewed commitment to find better ways to save money without sacrificing quality or jeopardizing services.

Staff Contacts

Name Title
Joan Hughes Finance Department Supervisor
Elaine Heaton Billing Technician
LeAnn Long Customer Representative
Harriet Hodgkin Customer Representative
Evan Glasco Customer Representative